With operations across the State, Western Power owns five major power stations and 26 smaller regional stations with a total capacity of 3280 megawatts. Western Power operates and maintains all except one of the major power stations – Collie Power Station is privately operated and maintained. The 794,000 industrial, commercial and residential customers are supplied through two major interconnected systems – the South West and the North West Interconnected Systems – as well as 29 separate systems in remote areas.

Western Power owns about 60% of electricity generation capacity in Western Australia, with the remainder owned by private industry.